Sustainable Purchasing

The nomination period has closed.


The opportunity to reduce the environmental impact of laboratories through sustainable procurement is enormous. The International Institute for Sustainable Laboratories (I2SL) recognizes institutions that have demonstrated initiative or progress in sustainable procurement through the Sustainable Purchasing Leadership Award. Nominations are open to any institution (such as universities, government, and nonprofit organizations) with laboratory facilities that meets one or more of the following criteria:

  • The institution actively encourages sustainable procurement in laboratories at multiple levels (e.g. staff, scientists, administration).
  • The institution has reached out to suppliers to request information about the environmental impact of products and packaging.
  • The institution has made a commitment to promoting and purchasing ACT labeled products and/or is requesting ACT label adoption by suppliers.

Institutions will be recognized in two categories:

  1. Improvement: Institutions that have made substantial progress on the above criteria (this category includes past recognees).
  2. Initiative: Institutions that have demonstrated motivation to in some way meet the above criteria (this category excludes past recognees).

2018 Recognees

The 2018 I2SL Annual Conference Go Beyond Awards Luncheon featured a new set of awards recognizing manufacturers which are participating in My Green Lab’s ACT Label effort, as well as institutions that have begun to implement procedures to purchase environmentally preferable laboratory products. “ACT” stands for Accountability, Consistency, and Transparency, and the ACT label is like an eco-nutrition label for laboratory products.

The following manufacturers obtained the ACT label in 2018:

  • CoolLED
  • Eppendorf
  • MilliporeSigma
  • Thermo Scientific Nalgene
  • Priorclave

The following institutions were recognized for their purchasing efforts in 2018:

  • Cleveland Clinic
  • Duke University
  • Emory University
  • Harvard University
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • University of British Columbia
  • University of California, Office of the President
  • University of California, San Diego
  • University of California, Santa Barbara
  • University of Colorado, Boulder
  • University of Georgia
  • University of Virginia